Contact Us | Skip to Main Content | A-| A | A+|



	Search

≡ Menu

ADVISORY: TRAVEL AND VISA RESTRICTIONS RELATED TO COVID-19

In addition to the Visa restrictions already in place, the following travel restriction shall also come into effect from 1200 GMT on March 18, 2020:

1. All incoming passenger traffic, on all 107 Immigration Check Posts which includes all Airport ICPs, all Seaport ICPs all Land Port ICPs, all Rail Port ICPs and all River Port ICPs, is prohibited, in the view of the spread of COVID-19.

Vehicles/Trains carrying goods for the trade or essential goods and supplies are exempted from this prohibition along with their crew, driver, helper, cleaner etc. subject to their thorough screening by the medical staff for COVID-19.

- 2. All passengers coming from European Union (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden), European Free Trade Association (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland), Turkey and United Kingdom have been prohibited from entering India from any of the Land/Air/Seaport ICPs. This restriction shall come into effect from 1200 hrs GMT on March 18, 2020 at the port of first departure, and shall remain till further orders and is a temporary measure.
- 3. The earlier visa restrictions, as mentioned below, shall also remain in force;
- i. All existing visas issued to nationals of any country except those issued to Diplomats, Official passport holders, those in UN / International organizations, those on Employment, Project visas and those who are operating aircrew of scheduled commercial airlines, and who had not yet entered India, stand suspended w.e.f. 1200 GMT on March 13, 2020 till April 15, 2020.
- ii. Visas of all foreign nationals already in India remain valid. They may contact the nearest FRRO/FRO through e-FRRO module for extension/ conversion etc. of their visa or grant of any consular service. Visa services granted on account of COVID-19 are GRATIS.
- iii. The validity of OCI card of foreigners presently in India shall remain.
- iv. Visa free travel facility granted to OCI card holders who are not in India presently, has been kept in abeyance till April 15, 2020. This has come into effect from 1200 GMT on March 13, 2020 at the port of departure of any foreigner for onward journey to India.
- v. Any foreign national (including OCI cardholder) who intends to travel to India for compelling reasons may contact the nearest Indian Mission for fresh visa.
- vi. International traffic through land borders will be restricted to designated Immigration Checkposts that have been notified by MHA vide O.M. No.25022/12/2017-Imm dated March 14, 2020.

Mandatory compliance of travel advisory issued by Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Gol.

i. Travel of passengers from Afghanistan, Philippines, Malaysia to India is prohibited with immediate effect. No Flight shall take-off from these countries to India after 1500 hours Indian Standard Time (IST). The

Airlines shall enforce this at the port of initial departure. These instructions shall remain in force till 1830 hrs GMT of April 14, 2020.

- ii. Passengers travelling from / having visited Italy or Republic of Korea and desirous of entering India will need certificate of having tested negative from COVID-19 from the designated laboratories authorized by Health Authority of these countries. This is enforcement since 0000 hrs. of March 10, 2020 and is a temporary measure till cases of COVID-19 subside.
- iii. All incoming travellers, including Indian nationals, arriving from or having visited China, Italy, Iran, Republic of Korea, France, Spain and Germany after Feb. 15, 2020 shall be quarantined for a minimum period of 14 days. This will come into effect from 1200 GMT on March 13, 2020 at the port of departure.
- iv. All passengers coming from UAE, Qatar, Oman and Kuwait will be placed under compulsory quarantine for a minimum period of 14 days which shall come into effect from 1200 hrs GMT on March 18, 2020 at the port of first departure.
- v. Incoming travellers including Indian nationals are advised to avoid non-essential travel and are informed that they can be quarantined for a minimum period of 14 days on their arrival in India.
- vi. Indian nationals are further strongly advised to refrain from travel to China, Italy, Iran, Republic of Korea, Japan, France, Spain & Germany.
- vii. All incoming international passengers returning to India should self-monitor their health and follow required do's and don'ts as detailed by the Government.
- viii. International traffic through land borders will be restricted to designated check posts with robust screening facilities. These have been notified separately by Ministry of Home Affairs.
- ix. All international passengers entering into India are required to furnish duly filled self-declaration form in duplicate (including personal particulars i.e. phone no. and address in India) (as annexed) to Health Officials and Immigration officials and undergo Universal Health Screening at the designated health counters at all Points of Entry.
- x. For any queries related to health, people may contact Ministry of Health & Family Welfare 24*7 helpline number (+91-11-23978046) or email at (ncov2019@gmail.com).

Mandatory compliance of Travel and Visa restrictions related to COVID-19 from Director General of Civil Aviation to be followed by all scheduled Indian and Foreign Airlines engaged in International air transportation to/from India:

- i) No scheduled international commercial passenger aircraft shall take from any foreign airport for any airport in India, after 0001 hrs GMT of March 22, 2020 (0530 hrs Indian Standard Time (IST) of March 22, 2020). These instructions shall remain in force till 1830 hrs GMT of April 14, 2020.
- ii) A maximum travel time of 20 hours is permissible for such commercial aircraft to land in India.
- iii) As such, no incoming scheduled international commercial passenger aircraft shall be allowed to disembark its passengers on Indian soil (Foreigner or Indian) after 2001 hrs GMT of March 22, 2020 (0131 hrs IST of March 23, 2020).
- iv) All passengers who have visited COVID-19 affected countries duly identified by Government of India in earlier travel advisories, who have visited these countries on or after February 15, 2020; and which are mentioned hereunder again:- China, Iran and EU, EU FTA, Turkey, UK (from where passengers have been prohibited from entering India from Afghanistan, Philippines and Malaysia (in force from March 17), shall remain in force and no scheduled international commercial airline shall carry or disembark such passengers on Indian soil.
- v) These instructions are in addition to the travel restrictions/advisories already issued and under implementation. The above are temporary measures to restrict the spread of COVID-19, and are subject to review by Government.

FAQs on new visa restrictions COVID-19

Helpline for COVID-19: (24X7) 011-24300666

Email id: support.covid19-boi@gov.in

<u>A Top</u>

Download Forms | Hyperlink Policy | Help | Accessibility Statement
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright Policy | Disclaimer

Website hosted & maintained by National Informatics Centre. Last reviewed and updated on March 31,2020 17:01